Lemon Squares

I was feeling in the mood for some citrus, so I found this super simple recipe from Cafe Delites website (101 calorie lemon bars). I’ve made lemon squares before, and they always call for a lot of butter, sugar and eggs. But this recipe impressed me because it was reasonably low fat. And this crust has applesauce which helped with the moisture and lowered amount of butter required.

I love how tart, yet sweet these bars are. Really good recipe. When (yes, when) I make these again, I will use a smaller pan (8×8, like in the recipe). I used a bigger pan because I obviously wanted more quantity to eat (teehee), but as you can see, my bars are a little flat. Using a smaller pan will give the thicker layer of lemon deliciousness. 

Leave a Reply

