Black Bean Brownies

Yes, you read the title right. I made black bean brownies. It’s fun to use traditionally savoury ingredients in sweet recipes. This creation has been around for a little while and I’ve always wanted to make them. Mostly, I was just curious to see if you could fool people into thinking they were regular brownies. I used this recipe from Chocolate Covered Katie (link here).

Making the brownies couldn’t have been easier. You throw everything (except chocolate chips) into the food processor, blend it up, stir in the chocolate then pour into a pan and bake. I think from start to finish, it took about 20 minutes (including 12 minutes baking time). Easy peasy, really. Side note: I used a slightly larger pan (9″ square) so my brownies were a little flatter which is why they took a little less time to bake.

Plus, it was vegan – had no eggs – which meant I could taste the batter before going into the oven. It tasted pretty good raw, it had a nice chocolatey flavour from the cocoa powder. And the chocolate chips add more chocolate goodness, so I think you could fool any chocolate lover with this dessert. Also, I like that it uses oats instead of flour too. After processing, it didn’t look super smooth, but it actually looked very similar to the picture from the original recipe, so I was happy with that.

They baked up quite nicely, they were firm to the touch. They really looked like normal brownies, which was impressive. Upon tasting them, I was super happy about the results. They were good brownies. They were super fudgy and decadent and pretty convincing. Maybe if there were chopped nuts or more chocolate chips it would be easier to hide the softness of the brownies. But overall, I call this a success.

It’s pretty cool that you can eat brownies that have protein and fibre. You deserve to eat two or even three of them. I won’t tell 😉

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment